General Information

Population: There is a population of over 4.8 million
Capital of Ireland: Dublin
Official Language: The official language is Irish and English
Major Cities: Dublin, Limerick, Cork and Dun Laoghaire, Waterford and Galway

Popular Expat cities: Dublin, Limerick, Dunmore East, Galway, Dingle and Belfast
Time Zone: GMT +1 (GMT+2 from the last Sunday in March to the last Sunday in October)
Money: The Euro (EUR) divided into 100 cents
Nearest Neighbours: Republic of Ireland is located on an Island which is to the east of the UK; Northern Ireland is also part of Britain but is situated on the north side of the island.
Popular attractions: Cliffs of Moher, Guiness Storehouse, Connemara, Blarney Castle. Ring of Kerry, National Botanical Gardens and Kilmainham Gaol
Religions: The main religion in Ireland is Christianity, Catholicism
Public Holidays: New Years Day, St Patrick’s Day, Easter Monday, May holiday, June holiday, August holiday, October holiday, Christmas day and St Stephens Day
International Dialling code: The international dialling code in Ireland is +353
Emergency contact: 112 or 999