General Information

Population: There is a population of about 54 million
Official Name: Republic of South Africa
Capital of South Africa: Cape Town
Official Language: There are 11 official languages but English is the standard language spoken in the country. Afrikaans, Zulu, Xhosa and Sotho are also spoken widely depending on the region
Major Cities: Durban, Port Elizabeth, Pretoria, Bloemfontein
Popular Expat cities: Cape Town and Johannesburg
Nearest Neighbours: Along the northern border from west to easy are Botswana, Zimbabwe, Swaziland Namibia and Mozambique. On the eastern side there is Lesotho which is surrounded by the Republic
Provinces: Western Cape, Eastern Cape, Free State, Northern Cape, Mpumalanga, Gauteng, Kwazulu-Natal, Limpopo and North West.
Time Zone: GMT + 2
Money: South African Rand (ZAR) divided into 100 cents
Popular attractions: Kruger national park, Table Mountain, Robben Island, Victoria & Alfred waterfront, Cango Caves, Cradle of Human Kind and much more
Public Holidays: New Years Day, Human Rights Day, Good Friday, Easter Monday, Freedom Day, Worker’s Day, Youth Day, Women’s Day, Heritage Day, Day of Reconciliation, Christmas Day and Day of Goodwill
Religions: The well known religions are Christianity, Islam and Hinduism; however freedom of religion is encouraged
International Dialling code: +27, with the relevant city code: Cape Town (0)21 and Johannesburg (0)11
Emergency contact: 10111
Visa: There are different types of visa for the purposes you are coming to the country