General Information

Population:           There is a population of about 23.8 million

Capital of Australia:             Canberra

Official Language:                The main official language spoken is English; expats will have no problem communication when moving here.

Major Cities:  Melbourne, Perth, Sydney, Brisbane and Adelaide

Popular Expat cities: Melbourne, Perth, Adelaide and Sydney

States of Australia: New South Wales, Queensland, Victoria, South Australia, Western Australia and Tasmania.

Territories: Australia is made up of two territories: The North territory and the Australian Capital Territories.

Time Zone:  There are three time zones in Australia – Eastern (GMT +10), Western (GMT +8) and Central (GMT +9.5)

Money: Australian Dollar (AUD)

Nearest Neighbours:          New Zealand, Indonesia, Papua New Guinea, Vanuatu, New Caledonia and the Solomon Islands

Popular attractions:  Sydney Opera House, Great Barrier Reef, Sydney Harbour Bridge, Kakadu National Park, Fraser Island and many more

Religions:               The main religion in Australia is Christianity. Other religions include Hinduism , Islam and Buddhism.

International Dialling code:               +61, plus a two-digit local city code

Emergency contact:            000 for the police, ambulance and fire services

Visa:       Australian Visa

Australia Travel Advice:     Foreign and Commonwealth Office